Items : 0
Subtotal : R$0,00
View CartCheck Out

About WEC

SEASON 8 (2019-2020)

July of 2019 will set sail the opening of Season 8 of the World Endurance Championship (FIA WEC).  The prologue will take place on the 23rd and 24th at the Circuit de Catalunya, in Barcelona, Spain.  It will consist in 2 official testing days for the actual opening season, which will start in September 2019 with the 4 Hours of Silverstone, in England, with the grand finale at the cornerstone of the WEC, the 24 Hours of Le Mans in late June 2020.

The new season of the FIA WEC will visit 8 different cities: 3 in Europe, 2 in Asia, 1 in the Middle East, 1 in South America and 1 in North America, totaling 5 continents over the span.

Among the new attractions of season 8 is the long-awaited comeback of the 6 Hours of Sao Paulo to the championship’s calendar. The Brazilian stage is set for 30th and 31st of January for free practice and qualifying, with the race starting on February 1st 2020, at the historic and traditional Jose Carlos Pace Speedway, better known as Interlagos Racetrack.

During those three days Interlagos Racetrack will become a wide amusement park, with over 12 hours of entertainment, in the Village Park, providing activities for all ages, the Food Park, with diversified cuisine for every taste, motorsport-themed souvenir shops, ferris wheel, tree climbing tracks and other educational and sports activities. Furthermore, there will be a Gaming Area with driving simulators that will also host one of Le Mans’s eSports Series. To top off all of that there will be daily live concerts to cheer up the crowd until the last day, finishing things up with a closing ceremony with a renowned Brazilian attraction.

Just like in season 2018-2019, the FIA WEC will join forces with IMSA in order to provide the finest experience of a motorsport weekend event – the 1000 Miles of Sebring will happen immediately after the traditional 12 Hours race of IMSA.

Regarding teams and pilots, Season 8 will feature 33 teams between categories LMP1, LMP2, LMGTE Pro and LMGTE Am. With the presence of the current FIA WEC Champions, team Toyota Gazoo Racing will be in the spotlight as well as team Rebellion Racing and the Brazilian driver, Bruno Senna.

On LMP2, Signatech-Alpine Elf will keep its current champion team, featuring Brazilian driver André Negrão for the upcoming season of 2019-2020. The category will star a few newcomers, as Racing Team Nederland and Jota Sport, which in the Super Season 2018-2019 partnered up with Jackie Chan DC Racing and now will line-up two prototypes on the grid.

On LMGTE Pro we will count with the steadfast presence of AF Corse and its Ferrari’s, as well as Porsche GT Team and Aston Martin Racing going head-to-head in one of the most even categories of the grid.

Whereas on LMGTE Am most of the previous teams from last season are confirmed for another exciting dispute.

Check out the complete Schedule for Season 8 of FIA WEC:

  • June 23rd/24th 2019 – The Prologue (Spain)
  • September 1st 2019 – 4 Hours of Silverstone (England)
  • October 6th 2019 – 6 Hours of Fuji (Japan)
  • November 10th 2019 – 4 Hours of Xangai (China)
  • December 14th 2019 – 8 Hours of Bahrain (Bahrain)
  • February 1st 2020 – 6 Hours of Sao Paulo (Brazil)
  • March 20th 2020 – 1000 Miles of Sebring (United States)
  • April 25th 2020 – 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)
  • June 13th/14th 2020 – 24 Hours of Le Mans (France)